It’s unofficial now…

October 6, 2008 at 6:03 am (running)

…that today I ran my first rock ‘n roll half marathon. Friend of mine couldn’t able to run so I decided to be a place holder :-).  After my full marathon on August 3rd, I haven’t done much running except few mile runs that I added as part of my first triathlon training.

So this was longest run in last two months. Wanted to see if my body cope for such distance without any preparation. And it turn out to be very pleasant experience. Event was full fun. With 10,000+ runners it was set for big blast. There were live bands along the way to keep runners rolling (except 3-4 miles in residential area).

I decided not to bother about timing and take it easy. With company of Uma, we had easy run. Along the way I grab the cow bell from passer by and use it to cheer the cheer leaders! Believe me it’s gets smile on their face when as a runner you appreciate their cheer and efforts that they put to make your run easy! Many young kids had their small own live bands. Their efforts were worth for cheering with big ringing bell.

By the time we were at 1 hour mark, dear Kenyan runner was making his way to be first runner to finish line. It was still close call as there was Morocco runner competing for first spot.  In next few minutes we saw first female runner (later found that she is from Japan). She was having strong run and was clear ahead of the second.

After 10 mile marker I felt bit tired, but Uma and me kept each other in good company to keep the momentum going. After this marker, I was eager to finish the run earliest. But then I reminded myself not to get caught up and enjoy the run. Really if you are not care about your finish time there are so many things happening around which makes the run most enjoyable. So many folks are give valuable time for their beloved runner/s. Some cheer for their other half. Some for their mommy, daddy or grandpas or some for their team. Also I was enjoyed reading different banners put by kind people.

I always appreciate volunteers because they help us to be successful. And hence I had been volunteering myself on the training runs. I’m very happy when I shout for the runner and they listen to me; put big smile on their face with aim for strong run. They make my day by becoming successful in their run. It’s a win-win situation for both parties. Isn’t this nice 🙂

Anyway back to our rock ‘n roll run, in 2 hour 49 minutes I found myself at the finish line. It was good to see Team Asha squad cheering up at very end. Thank you Jaya and gang. I hope you heard my appreciative cow bell ring.

With all being said, I will be back to Rock ‘n Roll next year as myself 😀

3 Comments

  1. Running » MMQB 2008 SEASON WEEK #6 said,

    […] It’s unofficial now…So this was longest run in last two months. Wanted to see if my body cope for such distance without any preparation. And it turn out to be very pleasant experience. Event was full fun. With 10000+ runners it was set for big blast. … […]

  2. JITENDRA said,

    HEY!! GONGRATS!!!
    GR8

  3. Vishal said,

    Thats Gr8….
    u might have enjoyed all the three phases…
    gud to hear but better to experience….
    Congrats !!!!

Leave a Reply

